SwampDogs Stopped Short by Marlins

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.    The Fayetteville SwampDogs (30-21) dropped their third straight game in a 7-5 loss at the hands of the Morehead City Marlins (23-26) on Tuesday night at “The Swamp.”

The SwampDogs wasted no time putting runs on the board, plating three runs in the 1st inning.  Andrew Henrickson (East Carolina) started the scoring with a base hit to plate Austin Edgette (Bloomsburg). Jayson Newman (Cal State Northridge) plated his league leading 48th run of the season as Jameel Edney (Bloomsburg) scored on a base knock. The SwampDogs would add another run on an error by Morehead City second baseman Steven Taylor (Mercer) off the bat of Jonathan Allen (San Francisco) that scored Henrickson to put the Dogs up on the Fish 3-0 after 1 inning.

Morehead City would tie things up at 3 in the top of the fifth inning, but the SwampDogs wouldn’t let the tie last long.

Jayson Newman drove home his second run of the night on a RBI single that scored Edney, followed by a double down the left field line from Trent Franson (TCU) which brought home Henrickson and put the SwampDogs back on top by a score of 5-3.

The Marlins, though, would mount a rally in the 6th inning to put the Marlins ahead for good with four runs highlighted by Mark Castellucci (Montevallo) single that scored two for Morehead City and helped secure a 7-5 lead that would be preserved by strong pitching by Marlins’ relievers Cody Boydstun (Longwood) and Will Matthiessen (Stanford) with Boydstun picking up the win in three innings of relief to improve to (2-0) and Boydstun notching his second save of the season to extend the SwampDogs skid to three games.

The SwampDogs return to the Swamp on Saturday, August 5 for the final fireworks game of the season on Fan Appreciation Night presented by Cape Fear Orthopedics against the Holly Springs Salamanders. The gates will open at 6 with first pitch at 7:05. For all your SwampDogs news and updates please visit GoSwampDogs.com and follow us on Twitter @GoSwampDogs. The SwampDogs season is presented by Fayetteville Kia.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 21st season in 2017, the CPL features 15 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,400 alumni drafted and 98 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at www.coastalplain.com and follow us via Twitter @CPLBaseball.