SwampDogs start 2015 with a bang

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – The Fayetteville SwampDogs kicked off their historic 15th season with a bang Tuesday, announcing several exciting developments at The Swamp.

The SwampDogs are honored to be partnering with Rolling Thunder to bring an Honor Chair to J.P. Riddle Stadium. Rolling Thunder’s Honor Chair program helps to serve as a daily reminder of the more than 91,000 service men and women since World War I who went Missing in Action or were Prisoners of War and did not make it home.

The chair will be situated along the first base side of the stadium and will be unveiled in a special pregame ceremony on Opening Night – May 26th against the Morehead City Marlins.  It represents the third Honor Chair in the state of North Carolina, with the other two being located at Charlotte ZMax Dragway, and the other indoors at the Cape Fear Valley Medical Center in Fayetteville.

The Honor Chair will remain empty, and each game an honorary attendee will announced.

“The men and women of our armed forces are integral to everything we are able to do every day,” said Justin Sellers, the commissioner of the Coastal Plain League. “Fayetteville has always been at the forefront of our military initiatives, and we are proud that they are doing this.”

The SwampDogs also announced an exciting new promotion, dubbed the Winning Inning presented by Coffman Plumbing. On the SwampDogs’ August 1st home game against the Edenton Steamers, the SwampDogs have the opportunity to give away $90,000 to fans during the game.

If a certain event happens on field during each inning, for example if the SwampDogs strike out the side in the ninth inning, a fan will win $10,000. For the price of admission, fans can enter to win. After the game, the SwampDogs will have their final Fireworks Extravaganza of the season.

In addition to the Honor Chair and Winning Inning, the SwampDogs also debuted a new-look website, designed by the 219 Group and new uniforms for the first time in 10 years.

“We are very excited to be making the 15th season of SwampDogs baseball the best one yet for the fans and the community,” said SwampDogs General Manager Jeremy Aagard. “To be able to honor the brave men and women who have given so much to us in this unique way is very special, and we thank everyone at Rolling Thunder Chapter 1  especially Chapter President Craig Hardy for helping to make this happen.”

The 15 seasons that the SwampDogs have been in existence make them the longest-tenured team in Fayetteville sports history, a rich tradition which dates back to 1909 with the original Fayetteville Highlanders.

The Fayetteville SwampDogs are in their 15th season playing in the Coastal Plain League. The SwampDogs are one of the most successful franchises in the league’s history, making the Petitt Cup Playoffs seven times in the past nine seasons, reaching the championship round three times. The SwampDogs boast 84 alumni taken in the draft and have produced seven players who have gone on to play in Major League Baseball. The SwampDogs open their season on Tuesday, May 26th with a 7:05 pm tilt with the Morehead City Marlins at J.P. Riddle Stadium. To reserve your seats for the 2015 Summer of Fun or for more information, call the SwampDogs offices at 910-426-5900.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s hottest summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 19th season in 2015, the CPL features 15 teams playing in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL gives college players the chance to refine their skills with the use of wooden bats. Players are housed with local host families for the summer and past experiences have been very positive for both players and hosts. The CPL has had over 1,200 alumni drafted and 75 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at www.coastalplain.com and follow us via Twitter @CPLBaseball.