Salamanders Swing Past SwampDogs

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.—Despite a three-run homer by Matt Lahn (Lock Haven) in the first inning, the Fayetteville SwampDogs could not stay in front of the Holly Springs Salamanders in a 17-7 loss Monday night.

The Salamanders took the lead with six runs in the bottom of the first and never looked back adding ten runs in the middle three innings to pull away.

Salamanders starter JT Rogoszewski settled down after surrendering four runs in the first two frames. Rogoszewski did not allow a run in his final three innings of work to earn the victory. Lahn, who started on the mound for the SwampDogs, was handed his first loss of the year.

The SwampDogs won’t have to wait long for another crack at the Salamanders as the two teams meet at The Swamp

Tuesday night for Sumemrtime Spook Fest with first pitch at 7:05pm.

Purchase tickets by calling 910-426-5900 or for more information visit

About the SwampDogs:
The Fayetteville SwampDogs enter their 16th season playing in the Coastal Plain League. The SwampDogs are one of the most successful franchises in the league’s history, making the Petitt Cup Playoffs eight times in the past 11 seasons, reaching the championship round three times. The SwampDogs boast over 100 alumni taken in the draft and have produced seven players who have gone on to play in Major League Baseball including slugger Mark Reynolds and David Aardsma. For more information on the Fayetteville SwampDogs, visit their team website at and follow us on Twitter @GoSwampDogs and like us on Facebook at Fayetteville SwampDogs Baseball. Where baseball is fun!

About the Coastal Plain League:
The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s hottest summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 20th season in 2016, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had nearly 1,300 alumni drafted and 81 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Twitter @CPLBaseball.