Four SwampDogs to Compete in 2017 CPL All-Star Game

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Austin Edgette (Bloomsburg), Jay Robinson (New Orleans), Griffin McLarty (College of Charleston), and Zach Neff were all selected to represent the East Division in the 2017 Coastal Plain League All-Star Game to be played on Monday, July 10 in Holly Springs.

Edgette, an outfielder has to lead the SwampDogs’ offense as their lead-off man this season, ranking among the CPL’s best with his .380 batting average.

Robinson has shined in the Fayetteville outfield while hitting .286 at the plate.  His ability to cover the gaps in the outfield has made him an asset defensively as well.

McLarty and Neff have formed a formidable 1-2 punch in the SwampDogs rotation, with the right-handed McLarty carrying a team-best 0.95 ERA and a 4-0 record. Neff, also sits at 4-0, with a 2.08 ERA.

Jayson Newman (Cal State Northridge) also has the opportunity to join his four teammates in Holly Springs as a fan vote candidate competing with four other CPL East Division players for a chance to compete in the All-Star Game. Fan voting begins on Monday, July 3 at noon (ET) with the voting concluding on Tuesday, July 4 at noon (ET). Fans will be able to vote on

The SwampDogs return to The Swamp on Saturday with the first-half of the regular season concluding in a double-header against Florence. First pitch is at 6:05 with the gates opening at 5. For all your SwampDogs news and updates please visit and follow us on Twitter @GoSwampDogs. The SwampDogs season is presented by Fayetteville Kia.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 21st season in 2017, the CPL features 15 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,400 alumni drafted and 98 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Twitter @CPLBaseball.