4 Dogs Named to All-CPL Teams

With the announcement of the 2017 All-CPL First and Second teams, the Fayetteville SwampDogs are excited to congratulate four members of the 2017 roster. Each team features 24 players: one player per each infield position, four designated hitter/utility players, five outfielders, six starting pitchers and four relief pitchers.

The First Team is highlighted by CPL Pitcher of the Year Zach Neff (Austin Peay) and is joined by Griffin McClarty (College of Charleston) on the pitching side of the diamond. On the offensive side of the ball, making the team was Jayson Newman (Cal St – Northridge), after finishing the season leading the league in RBIs with 56, with Austin Edgette (Bloomsburg) earning second team honors.

Neff left the team in late July but still managed to lead the league in strikeouts with 65 over 49.2 innings of work. He finished the season undefeated with a 7-0 record only allowing seven walks and eight earned runs earning him a 1.45 ERA. McLarty’s season was similar to Neff’s as his 6-0 record was second best on the SwampDogs. He threw 51 strikeouts in 40 innings while only allowing seven free passes and seven earned runs.

Newman did much more than just hit RBIs for the Dogs. He led the team in batting average (.352) and home runs (11) and slugging percentage (.615) while even stealing four bases in five attempts. Edgette saw action in 40 games hitting .308 with seven doubles, 25 RBIs and stealing nine bases over the summer.

“We’re excited for these young men to receive this recognition,” said SwampDogs general manager Jeremy Aagard. “They are all well deserving of this and were part of a fantastic team that played incredible baseball this season. We’re looking forward to continued success from these guys as they continue their baseball careers.”
To see the entire list of All-CPL honorees, click here.